How to Get Your Real Estate License in Oklahoma
Looking for an up-and-coming real estate market to get involved in? How about one that’s popular with investors and homeowners alike? Then it’s time to think about getting your real estate license in Oklahoma! Business is booming in the aviation and aerospace, bioscience, financial services, and international trade sectors, making the capitol, Oklahoma City, a desirable place to live.
Whether it’s been your goal to become a real estate agent for a while now or you’re just now considering it as a new career option, the real estate business can offer you everything you want in a career.
So, you want to know how to get your real estate license in Oklahoma? The overall licensing process and education requirements are typically pretty similar across the U.S., although some of the specifics may change, depending on your home state. Let’s take a look at the list of basic requirements you’ll need to meet to become a licensed real estate salesperson in the state of Oklahoma.
- Complete 90 hours of state-approved pre-licensing education
- Submit your fingerprints and pass the background check
- Apply for a provisional sales associate license
- Schedule and pass the Oklahoma Salesperson Exam
- Find a sponsoring broker
1. Complete 90 hours of state-approved pre-licensing education.
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission (OREC) requires all prospective provisional sales associates (first-time applicants for licensing) to complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education before taking a real estate licensing exam. In Oklahoma, pre-licensing education includes information on contract law, listing agreements, real estate finance, closings, Oklahoma laws, and much more.
Most pre-licensing courses in Oklahoma can be taken online or in person. Pre-licensing courses approved by the state of Oklahoma can be found here. You have three years from the time you pass your pre-licensing education to take and pass the provisional sales associate licensing exam.
Please note that passing these education courses does not guarantee that you’ll pass your real estate exam. Take advantage of practice tests and review hours to make sure you’re fully prepared. Practice exams are available through PSI for $23.95.
2. Submit your fingerprints and apply for a background check.
All applicants for a provisional sales associate license must be fingerprinted and undergo a background check. Background checks for the state of Oklahoma are provided by IdentoGO and cost $60. To schedule an appointment with IdentoGO, click here and use the service code 2B7NR3.
Background checks can take 60 days or longer to complete, so make sure you book this appointment before taking the exam or submitting your provisional sales associate application.
3. Apply for a provisional sales associate license.
Once you have successfully completed the pre-licensing education, it’s time to gather the documents you’ll need to submit a Request for Issuance of an Active Provisional Sales Associate or Sales Associate License to OREC. Some of these can take weeks to arrive, and you don’t want them holding up your entire process. For the state of Oklahoma, these documents include:
- Certificate of Completion of approved 90-hour pre-license course (must be completed within the past three years)
- Proof of Citizenship. A copy of your birth certificate or valid passport is acceptable. A copy of a driver’s license will not be considered.
- Proof of high school graduation
- Licensing fee of $100
Your full license application must be submitted before you take the provisional sales associate exam. Information on scheduling the exam will be given to you upon completion and approval of your application, usually within 5 days of submission. Applications are valid for one year.
4. Schedule and pass the Oklahoma State exam.
The final exam must be taken in person at an approved PSI testing facility. You will receive an email from PSI with information on how to schedule your exam at a testing center.
On your exam date, you’ll need to present a valid, signature-bearing form of identification. A driver’s license is acceptable. NO personal items are allowed at testing centers, with the exception of a silent, non-programmable calculator. You will be given paper and pencil when you arrive.
The exam is made up of 130 multiple-choice questions and is divided into two sections: a national portion and a state portion. The national portion of the exam covers general real estate practices and national laws, such as fair housing regulations. The state portion of the real estate license exam covers Oklahoma-specific laws and practices. You’ll have a total of 300 minutes to complete the exam.
The exam fee is $60, and to pass the exam you must score 70% or better. You will be notified of your exam results immediately on the computer screen when you finish the exam. If you don’t pass the final on your first attempt, you’ll be able to schedule a retake immediately. You are allowed to retake the exam an unlimited number of times. The fees apply each time.
Within 48 hours of passing the exam, you will receive an automated email message from OREC with a link that contains your results and instructions on how to issue your license completely online with the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission.
Completing these steps does not make you an Oklahoma Realtor, however. This is because “Realtor” is a copyrighted term owned by the National Association of Realtors (NAR). NAR has its own list of requirements to join, and each member of NAR is bound to specific ethical standards.
5. Select your sponsoring broker.
Now there’s just one final step you need to take before you can legally practice real estate in Oklahoma. When you first receive your license document, you’ll have an inactive license status. In order to activate your license, you’ll need to find a real estate broker to sponsor you, so they can submit the license activation paperwork to OREC. In Oklahoma, a new salesperson doesn’t actually have the legal authority to complete real estate transactions on their own. A broker, however, operates their own real estate company and can oversee salespeople in real estate activities.
Even if the state didn’t require you to work through real estate brokerage services at first, I would still strongly recommend it to any new real estate agent. When I first started, I didn’t join a team, and I look back on that as one of my biggest mistakes. If I could give you one piece of advice on how to pick the right broker to work with, it’s this: Make sure that the broker you’re considering matches your needs, and don’t worry about the other way around.
Before you commit to anything, I recommend researching each brokerage you’re considering. Start with their reputation. Does this broker seem to be on solid ground with a good reputation in the state? Ask them about how much room you’ll have to grow at their brokerage. What kind of training program or further education do they offer? What is their commission structure like? Do they charge desk fees to work at the brokerage? If so, do they offer any technological advantages, such as a multiple listing service (MLS)?
Once you’ve found the right broker, your license can be updated to active status. Congratulations on earning the right to practice real estate!
Does Oklahoma have license reciprocity with other states?
Yes. The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission has reciprocal agreements with the following states and may grant a license-for-license as long as you meet all the rules.
How much time does it take to get your real estate license?
This is really a question for yourself more than it is for anyone else. How long do you want it to take? Driven students who treat their course hours like a job can complete their education within a few weeks. The longest process for them will likely be waiting on their fingerprint card. It’s also not uncommon for some students to take around six months to complete everything.
There are only two things about this that I can tell you for sure. The best time to start working toward your initial license is right now, and you have the ability to control your own pace after you start.
Is there anything aspiring real estate professionals can do to get an advantage?
You bet there is! I’ve partnered with the CE Shop to make sure of it. Through our partnership, we’ve created the training program that I wish I had when I first started my journey into real estate. With the Sell It Like Serhant: Pre-Licensing Accelerator, you’re getting a full state-qualifying education combined with my own sales system that my team and I use at my brokerage.
In addition to getting all the course hours you need from our state-approved program, this package includes plenty of unique benefits. You’ll have support from state-approved expert instructors, all the ebooks that you’ll need to succeed, as well as my own “Quick Start Guide”. Each helps you prepare for your state exam with the latest information and tips.
Speaking of exam prep, this course package contains 10 progress exams, five practice exams (three state and two national), and flashcards to get you ready for test day. We’re so confident you’ll pass your exam the first time that Utah students even get our Pass or Don’t Pay guarantee. If you don’t pass your state exam on your first attempt, we’ll refund all your money!
The good news doesn’t stop there, either. This course package also includes a membership to additional resources from SERHANT. to help you start achieving success from your first day in the business. Perhaps the most notable of these is my Sell It Like Serhant: Real Estate Core video course. This is a 42-video online course that teaches you the same techniques that I use with my team to generate leads, create markets, close deals, and much more.
You already have the potential to get your license and build a successful real estate career inside you. Let us help you unlock that potential today!