How to Get Your Real Estate License in Colorado
Do you dream about selling luxury apartments with mountain views in Denver? What about the most beautiful homes in Colorado Springs? If you’re here, it must mean you’re looking into how to get your real estate license in Colorado. I have some great news for you, in that case. There has never been a better time to get involved in the real estate industry than right now!
Maybe you’re here because you’ve always wanted to become an agent, or maybe you’re just looking for a new career with a higher earning potential. I’ve definitely been there. I wasn’t always the No. 1 real estate agent in New York City starring on Bravo’s “Million Dollar Listing New York.” But, I can tell you now that I couldn’t have possibly chosen a better career.
The process of going to real estate school and applying for your license tends to be fairly similar across the United States; just some of the finer details will change. Let’s explore the requirements that you’ll need to meet to get your real estate license in Colorado.
What you need to get your real estate license in Colorado
- The first step is to make sure you’ve turned 18 years of age. This is the only real prerequisite. No high school diploma or other education requirements are necessary to start.
- The Colorado Division of Real Estate requires you to complete 168 hours of pre-licensing coursework from a state-licensed real estate school. Upon finishing the six real estate courses, you’ll receive your certificate of completion (REC-33).
- Pass the pre-license course final exam. This will prepare you to take the full licensing exam.
- Pass the real estate exam at a PSI test center. This exam includes two sections. One is a national portion on standard real estate practices, and the other is a state-specific portion on Colorado real estate law. To pass the national section, you’ll need to answer at least 60 out of 80 questions correctly with a final score of 75% or higher. To pass the Colorado state section, you’ll need to answer at least 53 out of 74 questions correctly with a final score of 71.5%.
- Submit fingerprints and complete a background check. You’ll need to complete a basic criminal history background check and assessment by submitting the required materials to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation.
- Provide proof of Errors and Omissions insurance (E&O), also known as professional liability insurance. This helps protect you from attorney fees and lawsuits due to alleged mistakes during real estate transactions.
- Apply for your real estate license. The Colorado Division of Real Estate uses its online eLicense services for new applicants looking to get their broker license. You’ll need to pay a fee of $485 and wait up to 10 business days for your application to be processed.
Seems simple enough, right? Just meet the basic qualifications, submit the forms to the proper authority, and pay any applicable fees.
How long does it take to get your real estate license in Colorado?
That’s really a question for you. If you’re familiar with my book, Sell It Like Serhant, then you know that “initiative” is my favorite word. I think you should get your real estate agent license right now. If you feel like your back is up against the wall, that’s a GOOD thing.
In fact, in my Real Estate Core online video course, also titled Sell It Like Serhant, I use the concept of the Four W’s to help you evaluate and improve your work ethic. One of the Four W’s is “The Wall,” which is whatever you’re running from that motivates you to do better every single day.
The maximum amount of time you’ll have to complete your work to become a new agent will depend on your real estate school, instructor, and other factors. Most license applicants in Colorado finish within six months. However, the process can generally be completed in two to four months.
Is there a way to get a leg up for first-time applicants?
Absolutely! I’ve created the advanced training program that I wish I had when I first started out in real estate. The Sell It Like Serhant: Pre-Licensing Accelerator course combines your state-approved pre-licensing coursework with the same sales system that my team members and I use at my brokerage in New York City. This course package has everything you’ll need to get your Colorado license and kickstart a great career in sales.
This course package gives you access to expert instructor support, and they’ll answer all questions within one business day. You also get access to three important real estate textbooks, progress exams, and exam prep materials for the state exam. We’re so confident that these materials will help you pass your exam on the first try that we offer Colorado students our Pass or Don’t Pay guarantee. If you don’t pass your state exam on your first attempt, we’ll give you your money back!
With my courses, you can learn what you’ll need to get through your licensing national exam, state exam, and establish yourself as a successful real estate agent, all at your own pace from the comfort of your home.
Colorado real estate license reciprocity
The Colorado Real Estate Commission does recognize previous experience and qualifications in the real estate business and will reduce license application and education requirements accordingly. License reciprocity may apply to the following individuals.
- A bar-licensed attorney
- Former licensees
- Out-of-state licensees
- Degree students with a major course of study in real estate
Bar attorneys will be required to complete 12 hours of pre-licensing education and complete the entire broker’s exam. For previous licensees who had their licenses expire after Jan. 1st, 1997, you’ll need to pass both sections of the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s Exam. For those whose licenses expired before January 1st, 1997, you’ll be required to complete 72 hours of education and pass both sections of the broker’s exam. If you previously held your license as an active broker, you’ll be required to become an independent broker. For out-of-state licensees, you’ll generally only be required to complete the state exam.
Do you need a brokerage sponsorship to become licensed in Colorado?
While some states will require you to have sponsorship from a brokerage during your first years’ experience, Colorado is not one of them. Still, I would STRONGLY recommend it for new agents. One of my biggest mistakes in my early years was not joining a team. I didn’t have a mentor or a training program to follow. I learned everything the hard way, by myself. It doesn’t have to be that way for you.
By joining a real estate community and taking advantage of my course offerings, you can start out with five years worth of knowledge that I didn’t have when I started. How much money you want to make in this business is up to you. It took a great deal of hard work, selling on weekends, and the confidence to say “yes” to some wild ideas. But now I’m operating a 60-person sales team in my New York brokerage with the most-followed real estate brand in the world. Schedule your initial coursework, and get started on your own road to becoming a successful Colorado agent today!
- How to Get Your Real Estate License in Massachusetts
- 6 Proven Methods for Generating Real Estate Leads
- How to Get Your Real Estate License in Arizona